Regional Commissions

Tab Group

Basic Info

Georgia’s twelve regional commissions are public agencies created and established by the Georgia Planning Act (O.C.G.A. 50-8-32) in order to assist local governments on a regional basis and to develop, promote and assist in establishing coordinated and comprehensive planning in the state. The Department of Community Affairs contracts annually with the Regional Commissions to primarily foster effective local and regional planning and implementation of those plans. Regional Commissions may also administer other state and federal programs.

In accordance with O.C.G.A. 50-8-38, the State Auditor must conduct performance audits of state funds received by the regional commissions in the state. In coordination with the Georgia Department of Audits and Accounts (DOAA), the Georgia Department of Community Affairs and the Georgia Department of Human Services developed a scorecard to evaluate and report on state-funded operations and services of all twelve regional commissions. The Regional Commission Scorecard is intended to promote accountability and transparency by allowing each RC to assess its performance relative to its peers across financial, customer, learning and growth, and internal business process perspectives. To view completed DOAA regional commission performance audit reports or regional commission annual financial audits, click on the Reports icon below.