Rural Zones

Tab Group

Basic Info


Cherie Bennett

Recognizing that many small, rural downtown areas have experienced varying levels of economic distress, DCA worked with the Georgia General Assembly to secure passage of a bill calling for the development of “Rural Zones.” The establishment of up to 10 zones per year will enable businesses and investors to obtain tax credits for qualified activities occurring within designated Rural Zones. DCA, in partnership with the Georgia Department of Economic Development, will receive applications and designate zones each year to provide an incentive for job creation and private investment in the designated locations.

Credits will be available for job creation activities, investment in downtown properties, and renovation of properties to make them usable. The credits can be layered on top of each other; however, no credits are eligible without the job creation element being present. This program cannot be used in conjunction with any other state tax credit program.