Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC)

  • Basic Info


Annaka Woodruff

The Appalachian Regional Commission provides financial investment and technical assistance to eligible applicants in support of community and economic development in Georgia’s 37 county Appalachian region.

The Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) is a regional economic development agency that represents a partnership of federal, state, and local government. Established by an act of Congress in 1965, ARC is composed of the governors of the 13 Appalachian states and a federal co-chair, who is appointed by the president. 

ARC invests in activities that address the five goals identified in the Commission's strategic plan

Goal 1: Economic Opportunities
Invest in entrepreneurial and business development strategies that strengthen Appalachia’s economy. 

Goal 2: Ready Workforce
Improve the education, knowledge, skills, and health of residents to work and succeed in Appalachia.

Goal 3: Critical Infrastructure
Invest in critical infrastructure; especially broadband; transportation, including the Appalachian Development Highway System; and water/wastewater systems. 

Goal 4: Natural and Cultural Assets
Strengthen Appalachia’s community and economic development potential by leveraging the Region's natural and cultural heritage assets. 

Goal 5: Leadership and Community Capacity
Build the capacity and skills of current and next-generation leaders and organizations to innovate, collaborate, and advance community and economic development.

Georgia will invest in projects consistent with those priorities identified in the Governor's Annual State Strategy Statement. DCA partners with the five regional commissions serving Georgia’s ARC region to provide technical assistance to local governments and other organizations applying for funds:. 

Application Procedures:

All parties interested in ARC investment must complete a pre-application in advance of proceeding to the full application.The necessary pre-application document is available below in the Applications Section. This document is the only approved method of pre-application for funding.

DCA will not comment on any pre-application submitted fewer than 14 business days in advance of the full application deadline.

State Fiscal Year 2019 Full Application Deadlines: 

  • October 12, 2018
  • January 11, 2019
  • April 12, 2019
  • July 12, 2019 (FY'20)