Less Developed Census Tracts

  • Basic Info


Tricia DePadro

O.C.G.A. § 48-7-40.1(b) requires that DCA also rank the state’s census tracts by December 31 of each year.  The census tract detail is applicable to a 2020 tax year beginning on or after January 1, 2020, and includes “less developed” census tracts that are statistically similar to the bottom 71 (Tier 1) counties and are contiguous to at least nine other such tracts.  To rank census tracts, DCA uses American Community Survey data available specifically for the less developed census tract designations as of November 30, of the prior year. A complete listing of designated Less Developed Census Tracts for 2020 is located in the Fact Sheet section below.  These “less developed” areas are eligible for benefits similar to Tier 1 counties.

Changes in Less Developed Census Tract designations can also impact incentives available to businesses with plans to locate or expand in a particular area. These businesses are also eligible to file a Notice of Intent (see the Forms Section) on or before March 31 of the year of change.  The NOI is designed to prevent adverse effects to a business based on re-ranking out of a less developed census tract. .  The following table lists census tracts whose designation will change and result in a reduction in tax credit benefits.    

To determine the designation area for an address location, go to the Interactive Map of Potential Opportunity Zone areas for 2021, including designated LDCT and Military Zones. Click on the layers for the LDCT and Military Zones to have these layers shown on the map.