2019 Housing Opportunities for Persons with AIDS (HOPWA) Program Supplemental Application

The Department of Community Affairs (DCA) announces the 2019 Housing Opportunities for Persons with AIDS (HOPWA) Program Supplemental Application.  The HOPWA program provides resources and incentives to devise long-term comprehensive strategies for meeting the housing needs of low-income persons living with HIV/AIDS and persons in their family. 

DCA’s 2019 Emergency Solutions Grant (ESG) and HOPWA application closed on April 2, 2019. DCA supports the HOPWA program in 125 Georgia counties, not including the 29 Metro Atlanta counties under the City of Atlanta’s jurisdiction and five counties under the City of Augusta’s jurisdiction. Based on applications received, there is a gap in HOPWA service providers for Northeast and Southeast Georgia. DCA‘s goal is to ensure HOPWA services are provided across all Georgia counties and eliminate gaps. Therefore, DCA seeks HOPWA service providers serving the following counties

Northeast Georgia

Union, Towns, Rabun, Lumpkin, White, Habersham, Hall, Banks, Stephens, Franklin and Hart

Southeast Georgia

Emanuel, Jenkins, Screven, Bulloch, Candler, Toombs, Tattnall, Evans, Long, Wayne, Appling, Jeff Davis, Charlton, Camden, Brentley, McIntosh

All interested parties should send their interest to apply for the 2019 HOPWA supplemental application, including a list of proposed counties to be served, to Harvinder K Makkar at Harvinder.makkar@dca.ga.gov by April 19, 2019. If your agency already applied to serve any of the above-referenced counties during the 2019 ESG and HOPWA application, please advise DCA whether you plan to submit a new application as part of the supplemental application process.

For questions about DCA’s HOPWA program, please contact Harvinder K Makkar at 470-382-3518.