Hurricane Irma Disaster Assistance Grant

The Hurricane Irma Disaster Assistance Grant program is a one-time subgrant program to assist Georgia historic property owners with recovery from Hurricane Irma by addressing historic property needs unmet through other funding sources. This subgrant program has been made available through the award of a Hurricane Harvey, Irma, and Maria Emergency Supplemental Historic Preservation Fund grant from the National Park Service to the Historic Preservation Division, Georgia Department of Natural Resources.

Owners of historic buildings, structures, and objects in Georgia counties designated for general public assistance and individual assistance by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for Hurricane Irma are eligible to apply. The following counties were not designated for general or public assistance by FEMA for Hurricane Irma and therefore historic resources located in these counties are ineligible for assistance:

  • Bartow, Bleckley, Carroll, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Columbia, Dade, Douglas, Dekalb, Fannin, Fulton, Floyd, Gordon, Murray, Paulding, Polk, Richmond, Walker and Whitefield 

This is a reimbursement grant program and there is a minimum project cost of $5,000. No match is required. There is no maximum project cost, however the subgrant program will award up to $400,000 in total. Eligible projects include site-specific plans and specifications (pre-development) and construction (development) projects. Properties must be listed or eligible to be listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The announcement and application describe eligibility requirements, project examples, the grant cycle timeline, and processes in more detail.

Current Grant Cycle

The application period for the Hurricane Irma Disaster Response Grant has reopened! Applications must be postmarked by July 15, 2020. Application documents and instructions are below.

Current Application Documents