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30 year first mortgage loans 

@ low fixed rates

Down payment assistance loans

$5,000 -$7,500

@No monthly payments @No interest

Home buyer education & counseling

The Georgia Dream The Georgia Dream 
Homeownership ProgramHomeownership Program

Georgia Dream First Mortgage Loans and some down payment assistance

loans are financed with proceeds of certain tax-exempt bonds issued by

the Georgia Housing Finance Authority, pursuant to certain state laws

and federal income tax laws. Eligible Down Payment Assistance loans are

funded with HOME funds issued by HUD.

Our tax-exempt status and continued receipt of 

HOME funding is dependent upon the purchase 

of loans made in compliance with these laws.

Source of FundingSource of Funding

Tools Required Tools Required 
To Make A Loan?To Make A Loan?
� Georgia Dream Brochure

� The most current Georgia 
Dream Seller Guide 

� Checklists and Forms

� A Password for Lender on 
Line Provided by a designated manager within your 

company

� Receipt of our weekly rate 
sheet and program change 
notifications
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The DCA Loan ProcessThe DCA Loan Process

1. Provide borrower with Georgia Dream brochure

2. Refer borrower to Home Buyer Counseling

3. Qualify the borrower and process the loan as you would 
with  any other loan program

4. Obtain the appraisal

5. Reserve the loan on Lender on Line – print the 
Reservation Accepted screen and complete the required 
Georgia Dream documents

6. Submit to your company for credit and compliance 
underwriting approval  

7. Submit all documents listed on the nderwriting 
Package to DCA for compliance underwriting 

8. CLOSE WITH A DCA COMMITMENT 

Who Qualifies Who Qualifies 
for a for a 

Georgia Georgia 
Dream Loan?Dream Loan?

Or - Buyers who have not      

owned a home in the 

past 3 years

Or - Buyers  who purchase a 

home in a targeted 

area

First Time Home BuyersFirst Time Home Buyers

Map of Targeted CountiesMap of Targeted Counties
Other counties have targeted census tracts Other counties have targeted census tracts –– See  Appendix (III)See  Appendix (III)
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Additional First Time Home Buyer Additional First Time Home Buyer 
GuidelinesGuidelines Seller Guide Section 303

� Spouses and other adults (18 years old or older) who will live in the 
mortgaged property and who are not co-applicants and will not be on 
the Note or Deed are not required to be first-time home buyers. 

� DCA does not consider a construction loan or bridge loan of less than 
24 months to be a permanent loan. (Seller Guide 302.12)

� Applicants may not own any other residential real estate within or 
outside the United States as of the date of closing on a Loan. For 
example, an Applicant may have owned a residential rental property 
during the previous three (3) years, but must terminate his or her 
interest in such property prior to closing on a Loan.

� Three years rental history will be included on the 

Georgia Dream Form SF12 and the addresses 

should match those found on paystubs, tax returns 

and credit reports and other loan documents.

Household Income & Household Income & 
Purchase Price Limits Purchase Price Limits 

Eligible borrowers will have 

Household incomes less than:
1 to 2 persons          3 or more persons

Statewide         $58,500           $68,500   

Atlanta MSA    $69,000                      $79,500

And purchase a home 

with a sales price no more than:
Statewide        $200,000         

Atlanta Area   $250,000

See Seller Guide Sections 307 & 308 for eligible properties and property guidelinesSee Seller Guide Sections 307 & 308 for eligible properties and property guidelines

Household Income Household Income 
Guidelines             Guidelines             Seller Guide Section 304

Household Income includes the income of ALL Adult 
Household Members with some exceptions. For 
example: Non-Applicant adults (18 years of age or 
older) who are also full time high school or college 
students must provide evidence of enrollment from 
the high school or college at the time of application 
and only $480 of the students income is included. 

We understand that it is not common

lending practice to request this 
information for Non-Applicants, 
but it is  required for Loans made 

through our Georgia Dream 
Homeownership Program in order 
to verify that the Household Annual

Income is within our Program's 
Annual Household Income limits.
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Household Income Guidelines Household Income Guidelines 

� Household Income is disclosed on DCA 
Forms SF12 and SF15(Non-Applicants)and on 
the Household Income Worksheet. 

� Income on these forms should equal that 
shown on paystubs and other verifications of 
income. 

� Household Income can/may be different than 
the income used for credit qualifying.

Automated versionAutomated version
Available:Available:

1. Home page of 1. Home page of 
Lender On LineLender On Line

2. With other2. With other
Documents in Documents in 
Loan Status on Loan Status on 
Lender On Line.Lender On Line.

You may print a copy You may print a copy 
from the Georgia Dream from the Georgia Dream 
Seller GuideSeller Guide

Household Household 
IncomeWorksheetIncomeWorksheet

Income Income 
Section Section 
of SF12 of SF12 

NEWNEW
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NONNON--APPLICANT Affidavit SF15APPLICANT Affidavit SF15

Borrowers with limited assets: 

The greater of $20,000 or 20% of the purchase price (Seller guide 303.7)

Borrowers with credit scores:(Seller Guide 207.6)

� Of at least 660 with a maximum 40%/45% DTI
� Or at least 640 to 659 with a maximum 35%/35% DTI

� Or 620 but no more than 639 with a maximum 35%/35% DTI and the 
following additional guidelines will apply:
� Must provide an acceptable verified 12 month rental history

� Must have a minimum of two months cash reserves not including 401K and Retirement Accounts
� May have had no bankruptcy or judgment within the past three (3) years

� The new monthly mortgage payment may not exceed the current monthly rental payment by more than 
150%

� No adult household member may own residential real estate at closing. (See Section 303.4)
� Applicants with no credit scores that meet FHA's non-traditional credit policy as outlined in the HUD 

4155.1 Rev-5 will continue to be accepted as meeting the minimum 620 credit score requirement and 
must also meet the maximum DTI ratios and additional guidelines above.

Asset Limits,Asset Limits, Credit Scores, Credit Scores, 
and Ratiosand Ratios

NEW: Home Buyer Education NEW: Home Buyer Education 
Requirements Requirements 

� Borrowers with low middle credit scores of 660 and greater 

May complete Home Buyer Education online at 
www.ehomeamerica.org and provide the 

certificate of completion 

� Borrowers with low middle credit scores of 659 or less 

Must complete individual (one on one) Home Buyer 
Counseling from a DCA or HUD approved agency and 

provide a certificate of completion.

Agencies listed at www.gadream.com or in our Georgia Dream 
Brochure provide individual counseling at no charge to the 
borrower.
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Subordinate Financing Subordinate Financing 
Section 302.9

The Georgia Dream 1st mortgage can be 

combined with down payment programs approved by 

the mortgage insurer in subordinate position –

especially the Georgia Dream 2nd Mortgage Programs.

Evidence of borrower approval for the subordinate 

financing other than Georgia Dream must be included 

with the underwriting package.

As of March 1, 2011 we no longer allow the 

Layering of Down Payment Programs with our Georgia 
Dream Down Payment Loan. 

Calculation of theCalculation of the
Maximum Base Loan AmountMaximum Base Loan Amount

See Seller Guide 302.10 and the Online Form

ADD: Lesser of Sales Price or Appraised Value

PLUS: Required 203b or 203k repairs (If applicable)

Equals:  The Total Acquisition cost

LESS: DCA 2nd mortgage or other Subordinate Financing 

LESS: $1,000 DCA Required Borrower Contribution

Subtotal

PLUS: Closing Costs from 1003

PLUS: Prepaid Items from 1003

LESS: Seller Paid Closing Costs

EQUALS: THE MAXIMUM BASE LOAN AMOUNT

DOWN PAYMENT DOWN PAYMENT 
ASSISTANCE ASSISTANCE 

LOAN PROGRAMSLOAN PROGRAMS
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Down Payment Assistance Down Payment Assistance 
Loan ProgramLoan Program

Subordinate financing for the payment of closing costs and 
pre-paid items and the reduction of the 1st mortgage

$5,000 - $7,500

No monthly 

payments

0% Interest

Must be REPAID when the home is sold, refinanced 
or no longer used as the borrower’s personal residence.  
This LOAN is NOT FORGIVEN!

Additional DPAAdditional DPA
Loan RequirementsLoan Requirements

�Used in conjunction with a 

Georgia Dream First Mortgage loan

�Buyers must contribute $1000 to the 
transaction. Funds may be a gift, or loan as per 
the mortgage insurer’s guidelines. Seller Guide 411

DPA LOAN $5,000DPA LOAN $5,000

All 

Eligible

Borrowers
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(PEN) Protectors, Educators and (PEN) Protectors, Educators and 
Nurses (Health Care Employees)Nurses (Health Care Employees)

DPA LOAN

$7,500

CHOICE  CHOICE  
DPA LOAN $7,500DPA LOAN $7,500

To assist householdsTo assist households

with individuals who with individuals who 

are living are living 

with a disabilitywith a disability

achieve the dream ofachieve the dream of

homeownership!homeownership!

CoCo--Op CommunitiesOp Communities

DPA Loan DPA Loan $7,500$7,500

Employees of a city and/or  a 
county government 

designated as a 
DCA Co-OP Community

(2 year period of designation)

For a complete list 
of cities and the

dates of designation 
See Seller Guide 401.2d
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In DU – Community Second

In LP – Gift for Approval 
as subordinate financing 
to correct CLTV

In FHA  
Total Scorecard 
or pmiAURA – Subordinate Financing

All forms of subordinate financing 
must be included in the CLTV

FHA has approved the Georgia Dream Second Mortgage Program as provided under

Mortgagee Letter 94-2. The combined LTV for all mortgages cannot exceed 100% of 
the cost to acquire the property plus any normal prepaid expenses, as described in 
HUD Handbook 4155.1 which may exceed 100%.

ENTER DOWN PAYMENT ENTER DOWN PAYMENT 
ASSISTANCE AS:ASSISTANCE AS:

UnderwritingUnderwriting

The credit decision is made by 

your company or your

contracted underwriting

company based on the

mortgage product 

and the MI guidelines.
(Seller Guide 207)

The Lender should  also review the loan for 
compliance with the Georgia Dream 

Homeownership Program Guidelines.

Include these forms in your Include these forms in your 
underwriting package to DCA underwriting package to DCA 

Applicable Mortgage Insurer Certificate:

� FHA Loan Underwriting and Transmittal Summary 
92900LT and Conditional Commitment completed 
and signed by the Direct Endorsement Underwriter

� USDA-RD Form 3550.7 Conditional Commitment

� Proof of the VA automatic or Lender Appraisal 
Processing Program approval
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Automated UnderwritingAutomated Underwriting

DCA will accept an Underwriting Package 

that has received a credit recommendation 

of: “Accept” from Loan Prospector (LP)    

“Approve” from Desktop Underwriter

DCA also accepts automated credit recommendations 

from FHA Total Scorecard and PMI-AURA 

All manually underwritten loans will be considered 

to have a 620 credit score and must have 

maximum DTI ratios of no more than 35%/35% and meet 
the additional overlays as described in Section 207.6. 

Manually underwritten conventional loans must meet the 

requirements of Fannie Mae’s My Community Mortgage 

manual UW guidelines. 

FHA loans must comply with the manual underwriting requirements 

in HUD 4155.1

VA loans must comply with the VA handbook.

Manual UnderwritingManual Underwriting

Loans must be insured by FHA, 
or guaranteed by VA or USDA.

Private Mortgage Insurance :

As of January 1, 2009 there are no Mortgage Insurance 
Companies rated at least AA and therefore no mortgage 
insurance companies eligible to insure Georgia Bond Loans.
Therefore conventional loans qualify only if the LTV is less than 
80%.

Mortgage InsuranceMortgage Insurance
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Required Down PaymentRequired Down Payment

� All loans must meet the mortgage insurer’s 
down payment requirements.  For a Georgia 
Dream First Mortgage Loan the applicant’s 
funds may be a gift or a loan. 

� Funds must be documented in accordance 
with standard FHA, Conventional, or USDA-
Rural Development requirements.

CoCo--Signors are permitted:Signors are permitted:

� Co-signers cannot take title to the property or live in the 
property securing our Loan. (Co-signers who live in the 
mortgaged property are considered co-Applicants.)

� Co-signers must sign the Note. Co-signers may not sign the 
Security Deed or DCA forms nor may they hold title to the 
property

� The co-signers' income is not included in the Household Annual 
Income but may be used as qualifying income. 

� If a co-signer is proposed for a Loan, the Underwriting Package 
must contain complete credit documentation for the co-signer 
along with a completed MCAW or 1008 underwriting 
worksheet;

� Co-signers’ credit and ratios must meet the requirements of the 
applicable Mortgage Insurer. 

DCA Compliance Underwriting DCA Compliance Underwriting 

� Applicant meets the first time home buyer requirements.
� Applicant’s total Household Annual Income does not exceed 

requirements; 
� Acquisition Cost of the subject property is within the published 

Acquisition Cost limits for the county in which the property is 
located; 

� DCA required forms are complete and accurate
� Loan proceeds are utilized for purchase only transactions
� Complete and accurate information provided on the loan  

application, support documents  and verifications  prior to 
loan closing, 

� Data integrity with the information contained in the  DU or LP 
finding

� All underwriting approval conditions set forth by the Lender’s 
Underwriter are satisfied and adequately documented; and

� Collateral meets the requirements of the Georgia Dream 
Homeownership Program and the Mortgage Insurer. 
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DCA Underwriting continuedDCA Underwriting continued

Lenders are required to review the file for 

compliance with the Georgia Dream 

Homeownership Program requirements 

prior to submitting the Underwriting Package to DCA 

for compliance underwriting. 

We reserve the right to require further information to 

insure compliance with Georgia Dream

Homeownership Program requirements and/or 

Mortgage Insurer requirements.

DCA Underwriting Turn Time DCA Underwriting Turn Time 
–– Goal is two daysGoal is two days
� Upon our receipt of a complete Underwriting Package, we 

require up to five (5) Business Days to review the Package and 
notify you of our underwriting decision.  You should consider 
this underwriting period in your plans to close the Loan. If the 
Underwriting Package is incomplete when we receive it, you will 
be notified by fax or email of the missing documentation. 

� In periods of unusually heavy activity or due to circumstances 
beyond our control, it may be necessary for us to extend beyond 
five (5) Business Days the time required for our underwriting 
review.  If it becomes necessary to extend beyond our five (5) 
day underwriting time, we will extend your Reservation Period.  
One day is given, at no charge, for each day beyond our five (5) 
day underwriting period.  

� You may check the status of our underwriting turnaround time 
by calling the Lender Information Line at (404) 679-0581.

www.Gadream.comwww.Gadream.com

••Access the seller guideAccess the seller guide

••Register the loanRegister the loan

••Print required DCA formsPrint required DCA forms

••Locate additional informationLocate additional information

••Locate Home Buyer Education Locate Home Buyer Education 
providersproviders
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Print a Seller GuidePrint a Seller Guide
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RESERVE YOUR GEORGIA DREAM LOANRESERVE YOUR GEORGIA DREAM LOAN

User ID and Password issued by your company.User ID and Password issued by your company.
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ADD ADD –– LOL Reservation page LOL Reservation page 

IInterestnterest RateRate

The Interest Rate The Interest Rate 

for the term of the for the term of the 

Georgia Dream First Mortgage Georgia Dream First Mortgage 

Loan is the rate that is effective Loan is the rate that is effective 

at the time the reservation is at the time the reservation is 

received by DCAreceived by DCA
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Reservation PeriodReservation Period

� The 75 day reservation period is the period of time from the date of 
reservation to the receipt of a purchase package by DCA

� The reservation can be extended for 30 days at a cost of $75 if the 
underwriting package has been received by DCA.  Submit a reservation 
extension request to DCA (SF5 or email) 

� If the reservation period is exhausted on a loan in progress you may 

re-reserve the loan at the interest rate in effect on the date of the new 
reservation, but not at a rate lower than the original reservation.

� Please cancel reservations as soon as you know a loan will not be 
completed (SF6 or email)

11

22
Print DCA Loan DocumentsPrint DCA Loan Documents

Required formsRequired forms
SF SF –– 1010

SF SF –– 1212

SF SF –– 1515

SF SF –– 1616

SF SF –– 72 OR SF72REO72 OR SF72REO

Household IncomeHousehold Income

WorksheetWorksheet

**

CHECKLISTS may also be printed from this listCHECKLISTS may also be printed from this list
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DCA SubmissionDCA Submission
Package ChecklistPackage Checklist

Shipping Address on top of Underwriting Package 
Checklist

Instructions 

for packaging
Seller Guide  207.7

Underwriting Package Underwriting Package ChecklistChecklistee

DCA FORMS – IN RED!

Acco-Fasten COPIES in order
� #1 - SF  10

� #2 - Reservation Accepted form

� #3 - Cover letter from processor or underwriter

� #4 - Household Income Worksheet

� #5 - SF 12

� #6 - SF 15 if applicable

� #7 - SF 16 – must be signed prior to u/w approval

� #8 - SF 72  or SF72 REO – must be signed or acknowledged prior 
to u/w approval 

� #9 - Final 1003

� #10 – Signed findings per LP/DU 

MCAW, or USDA Commitment, VA or Conventional  

approval  whichever applicable
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Underwriting Checklist (cont)Underwriting Checklist (cont)

� #11 – Internal Underwriting Approval with conditions

� #12 – Scratch Application

� #13 – Good Faith Estimate

� #14 – Signed Borrower’s Authorization Form

� #15 – 4506 T (Income Tax Verification Form

Signed by Borrower)

� #16  - Buydown Schedule – (Seller Guide 302.8 & Appendix IV)

Underwriting Checklist (cont)Underwriting Checklist (cont)

� #17 - Credit Report  - Dated within 120 days of the loan closing

(If mortgage is referenced verify status)

� #18 - Verbal VOE for all employment for the last twelve   

months and ALL documentation required by  LP or DU  

requirements (Seller Guide 304.3)

� #19 - Employment Verification required by DU or LP

� #20 - Verification of income dated within 45 days  

of the underwriting decision

* Pay stub with year to date earnings

* Social Security letter – child support verification

* Other

Underwriting Checklist (cont)Underwriting Checklist (cont)

� #21 – Bank Statement dated within 45 days of 
the underwriting decision with an

Explanation for deposits totaling     

$300 over 1010 language Seller Guide 305.1

� #22 – Rental History Verification if manual 
review or if borrower documents do not agree
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#23 #23 –– 3 years Federal Tax Returns and most recent W2’s3 years Federal Tax Returns and most recent W2’s

Signed copies signed by borrower(s) or computer print outs

or IRS Telefile Tax Record OR IRS Letter 1722 

If not required to file:

Applicant may complete DCA Tax Affidavit Form SF6012 

Provide explanations if: 

Reference to home mortgage interest or deduction for      

real estate taxes

Number of dependents does not 

match application

#24 #24 –– Sales Contract with all Sales Contract with all 

applicable addendaapplicable addenda

SIGNED BY ALL PARTIES

# 25 # 25 –– APPRAISAL APPRAISAL Seller Guide 310Seller Guide 310

Complete appraisal with all attachments including 
legible photographs (Can be emailed)

“Property meets HUD minimum property 
standards”

Include Collateral Inspection Form SF200 if new 
construction with no C.O. and HOME DPA utilized.

If USDA loan and no C.O. Plan Certification - #28 if 
applicable

For FHA Loans the appraisal must be dated within 
120 days preceding the note and the mortgage
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#26 – FEMA Flood Certification

#27 – Home Buyer Education Certificate 

#28 – USDA loans only 

#29 – Support documentation for Georgia Dream Second    
Mortgage Loans if required– (Chapter Four)

#30 – Preliminary Title Policy with chain of title 
reviewed by lenders underwriter for insurability issues

Balance of Checklist Balance of Checklist 

DCA UNDERWRITING DECISIONDCA UNDERWRITING DECISION

� Upon final approval you will receive a “Firm Commitment” 
which will include any conditions to be satisfied and included in 
the purchase package. Any “PTC” or prior to closing conditions 
must be resolved and emailed to u/w for review PRIOR to 
Closing.

Make sure any “AC” Requirements 

are communicated to your closing team!

� If the loan is rejected/denied the loan will be canceled within 10 
days unless notification is received that you wish to try to cure 
the rejection.

Closing Costs Closing Costs 
HUDHUD--1 for GA Dream 11 for GA Dream 1stst

Seller Guide 312Seller Guide 312

� Actual amount of all 3rd party fees – see list

� Up to 2.0% Origination (NO DISCOUNT POINTS)

� FHA 203K Fees allowed by FHA

� Maximum of $600 in processing fees

� Applicant must contribute $1,000 if utilizing a GA DREAM 2nd

mortgage Seller Guide 411

� 312.4 - Cash Out at closing allowed only for borrower contribution 
greater than the required $1,000

� Tax Service fee = $67

� Interest Credit at Closing – See Section 312.2



21

Closing CostsClosing Costs
HUDHUD--1 GA Dream 2nd 1 GA Dream 2nd Seller Guide 409Seller Guide 409

RESPA now Requires 
a separate HUD – 1

The following are the only fees allowed:
Origination fee  of  1% of the principal
Attorney Fees up to $150
Filing Fees for the 10 page deed 
Intangible tax  
$10.00 GRMA fee

Loan AssumptionLoan Assumption

� Seller guide 312

Loan can be assumed if the buyer:

a) Occupies the property as a principal residence

b) Meets Georgia Dream eligibility requirements

c) Has a household income within limits

And if:

The purchase price does not exceed Georgia Dream 

purchase price limits.

Recapture Tax Recapture Tax 

� Recapture Tax Disclosures will be Required 

at closing. 

�� DO NOT CONFUSE THE RECAPTURE DO NOT CONFUSE THE RECAPTURE 
TAX WITH THE REPAYMENT OF THE TAX WITH THE REPAYMENT OF THE 
DPA LOAN. DPA LOAN. 

� No Recapture tax calculation is made if 
home is sold after 9 years.

� THE DPA LOAN MUST BE REPAID IF 
THE HOME IS SOLD, REFINANCED OR 
NO LONGER USED AS THE 
BORROWER’S RESIDENCE. 
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Save yourself time Save yourself time 
and frustration!and frustration!

Each mortgage bank has its own internal 
requirements and procedures. 

Before you attempt to complete a Georgia 
Dream loan, contact your company’s 
underwriting and processing team for  

complete procedures and to                             
obtain a password to the Georgia Dream 

Lender on Line system.

Home Buyer CounselingHome Buyer Counseling

Provided by Georgia Dream

Homeownership partners

across the state.

Required for all Georgia 

Dream loans.

See credit overlays for 

home buyer counseling 

requirements based on 

borrower’s low middle credit 

score.

ONLINE ONLINE www.ehomeamerica.orgwww.ehomeamerica.org

Fulfilling Fulfilling 
Homeownership Homeownership 

DreamsDreams
with thewith the

AssistanceAssistance
of ourof our

Lending Partners! Lending Partners! 


