Welcome to the Georgia Department of Community Affairs

Local Government Compliance Status: Planning

Local Governments Currently Ineligible for Selected State Assistance Programs and Permits

Page 1: Comprehensive Planning, Service Delivery Strategy
Page 2: GoMI Survey, Local Government Finance, Hotel/Motel Tax, Authorities Registration, Authority Finances

The governments in these listings are not in compliance with DCA minimum standards under the Georgia Planning Act or the Service Delivery Strategy law and are therefore ineligible for selected state assistance programs and/or solid waste permits (see program details below the table). This list is continuously updated and is accurate as of the current date. For further information about specific compliance requirements, please contact the person listed below.

Comprehensive Planning Service Delivery Strategy
Governments that adopt DCA-approved comprehensive plans consistent with DCAs Local Planning Requirements (and Capital Improvement Element Updates consistent with the Development Impact Fee Compliance Requirements, where appropriate) are awarded "Qualified Local Government" (QLG) status. This provides eligibility for a package of financial incentives from DCA, the Department of Natural Resources (DNR), the Georgia Environmental Finance Authority (GEFA), and the OneGeorgia Authority.

The communities listed below will be awarded "QLG" status once the necessary materials have been approved by DCA and adopted, locally. Communities not listed below already have QLG status.
Georgias Service Delivery Act (OCGA 36-70-20) promotes efficient, effective delivery of local government services and helps prevent taxpayers from paying to receive the same services from multiple local governments. Communities listed below do not currently have a DCA-verified Service Delivery Strategy on file. This adversely affects the assistance these communities can receive from all state agencies that provide grants, loans, permits, including and beyond those associated with QLG status.

Once the necessary materials have been verified by DCA, the communities listed below will regain eligibility for all affected programs.
Alpharetta, City of
Avalon, City of
Carnesville, City of
Clermont, City of
Crawfordville, City of
Damascus, City of
Demorest, City of
Edgehill, City of
Gillsville, City of
Jasper, County
Martin, City of
Palmetto, City of
Pendergrass, City of
Rayle, City of
Rest Haven, City of
Riverside, City of
Rocky Ford, City of
Siloam, Town of
Sparta, City of
Sunny Side, City of
Union City, City of
Vernonburg, City of
Albany, City of
Clayton, City of
Columbia, County
Crawfordville, City of
Dillard, City of
Grovetown, City of
Harlem, City of
Mountain City, City of
Rabun, County
Sharon, City of
Sky Valley, City of
Taliaferro, County
Tallulah Falls, City of
Tiger, City of
Contact the Office of Planning and Environmental Management at pemd.opqga@dca.ga.gov, 404-679-5279
© 2016 Georgia Department of Community Affairs   Statements |  Site Map