County Snapshots Home

:: Columbus-Muscogee County ::

Community Profile

County Formed June 9, 1825
County Seat Columbus
Incorporated Cities Columbus
Total Area 220.986959 square miles


From its county population in 2000 of 186428 to its current population estimate of 200887, the county has experienced a growth change of 14459.

Muscogee was established by the state legislature on June 9th, 1825, along with many other counties that were formed from land gained in the Treaty of Indian Springs.

Muscogee County and the city of Columbus formed the first consolidated government in Georgia in 1971. Located on the fall line between the Piedmont and the Coastal Plain, the county's location has been crucial to its development as a center of trade and industry.

Muscogee County has a vibrant cultural heritage and has served as home to a number of notable artists, musicians, and writers. 

Points of Interest

The National Civil War Naval Museum at Port Columbus is in Muscogee County and houses the CCS Chattahoochee. The Chattahoochee was purposely sunk by the Confederates in April 1865 to prevent capture. The ship was raised from the Chattahoochee River in 196

Muscogee County also hosts the National Infantry Museum, which is dedicated the sacrifices made by all US infantry and showcasing how they lived. The Museum is located on the edge of Fort Benning, the nation's Airborne and Ranger training schools.

The Springer Opera House has been operating for 141 years.

Notable Citizens

Robert Winship Woodruff, a noted industrialist and philanthropist from Muscogee County, became the president of the Coca-Cola Company at the age of 33. Dr. John Pemberton, the inventor of the Coke formula, also lived in Columbus.

Higher Education

Columbus State University, Columbus Technical College and Troy State University at Ft. Benning

Chamber of Commerce
Additional County Info
Click here to view a larger map image.

State of Georgia

Springer Opera House, Columbus

Columbus River Walk

Return to top of page