County Snapshots Home

:: Walton County ::

Community Profile

County Formed December 15, 1818
County Seat Monroe
Incorporated Cities Between, Good Hope, Jersey, Loganville, Monroe, Social Circle and Walnut Grove
Total Area 329.947656 square miles


From its county population in 2000 of 61625 to its current population estimate of 87615, the county has experienced a growth change of 25990.

Walton County was created on December 15, 1818, from land originally held by both the Cherokee and Creek Indians and was named for George Walton, a signer of the Declaration of Independence and briefly a Georgia governor.

A unique fact to this county is that there was a previous Walton County created by the state legislature in 1803, but its location became part of what is now North Carolina when a dispute over the state line was settled in 1811.

The county seat is Monroe, first called Walton Court House, received its new name (honoring the fifth U.S. president, James Monroe) upon its designation as the county seat. The town was incorporated in 1821

Points of Interest

Incorporated in 1832 as a village and in 1869 as a town, Social Circle, situated at the highest point of the Georgia Railroad, was a transportation hub for the area before the Civil War (1861-65). Its lines were destroyed during the war by Union general W

Notable Citizens

There are several famous citizens of Walton County including seven other Georgia governors: James Boynton, Howell Cobb, Alfred Colquitt, Wilson Lumpkin, Henry McDaniel, Richard Russell, Jr., and Clifford Walker. Also, from Walton County was Moira B. Michael, known as the "Poppy Lady." She developed the symbol of the red Flanders Field Poppy as a memorial emblem for the veterans of wars.

Chamber of Commerce
Additional County Info
Click here to view a larger map image.

State of Georgia

High Falls State Park

Jarrell Plantation Historic Site

Return to top of page