County Snapshots Home

:: Fayette County ::

Community Profile

County Formed May 15, 1821
County Seat Fayetteville
Incorporated Cities Brooks, Fayetteville, Peachtree City, Tyrone and Woolsey
Total Area 199.286529 square miles


From its county population in 2000 of 92119 to its current population estimate of 109664, the county has experienced a growth change of 17545.

Fayette County was formed from parts of the Creek Indian Nation. Georgia's 49th county and its county seat, Fayetteville, were named for the Marquis de LaFayette, one of General George Washington's commanders in the Revolutionary War.

The Fayette County Courthouse in Fayetteville was built in 1825, making it the oldest courthouse in the state. Every Halloween children in the county fill the courthouse square with elaborately decorated jack-o-lanterns.

Housed in the former Margaret Mitchell Library in Fayetteville, the Fayette County Historical Society features historical collections concerning the civil war and local genealogical records.

Points of Interest

The "world's largest courthouse bench" is located alongside the southern walkway approach to the county courthouse in Fayetteville.

The largest city in the county, Peachtree City, is a totally planned municipality, which features over 110 miles of pedestrian and golf-cart pathways connecting all parts of the city.

Notable Citizens

Dr. Ferrol Sams, author of Run with the Horseman and other novels about the rural South, hails from Fayette County.

Annual Events

Fayette County Public Safety Games held in July.

The Peachtree City Triathlon Is held every September, and hosts more than 300 participants from around the world.

Chamber of Commerce
Additional County Info
Click here to view a larger map image.

State of Georgia

Fayette County Courthouse, Fayetteville (PWL)

Golf carts and pathways in Peachtree City

Return to top of page