County Snapshots Home

:: Calhoun County ::

Community Profile

County Formed February 20, 1854
County Seat Morgan
Incorporated Cities Arlington, Edison, Leary and Morgan
Total Area 283.534983 square miles


From its county population in 2000 of 6323 to its current population estimate of 6463, the county has experienced a growth change of 140.

Calhoun County was formed in 1854 and is named for John C. Calhoun, the U.S. Vice President under Presidents John Quincy Adams and Andrew Jackson.

According to local history, one political faction wanted the county seat to be in Concord, a small community in the north, and a second faction wanted it to be in Whitney. The leader of each faction agreed to "split the difference" by establishing the seat halfway between Concord and Whitney, which was eventually named Morgan.

More than 50 percent of the land in the county has been designated as prime farmland by the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The main crops are corn, oats, sorghum, and wheat.

Morgan, the county seat, was named for General Daniel Morgan, a Revolutionary War figure.

Points of Interest

Among several endangered species found in Calhoun County is the gopher tortoise, the state reptile of Georgia. The tortoise is identified as a threatened species by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Built in 1935, the Calhoun County Courthouse, located in Morgan, is the third in the county's history. Designed in the Colonial Revival style, the courthouse was renovated in 1972.

Annual Events

The annual May Day Festival in Arlington, held the first Saturday in May, is one of the oldest festivals.

The county hosts the King Cotton Horse Show, in Edison each May, and the Harvest Festival, held on the courthouse square in Morgan every November.

Additional County Info
Click here to view a larger map image.

State of Georgia

Ecotourism and Adventure

Hunting lodge in Edison

Return to top of page