County Snapshots Home

:: Banks County ::

Community Profile

County Formed December 11, 1858
County Seat Homer
Incorporated Cities Homer
Total Area 233.861938 square miles


From its county population in 2000 of 14529 to its current population estimate of 18295, the county has experienced a growth change of 3766.

The county was created from portions of Franklin and Habersham counties in 1858 and was named for Richard E. Banks (1794-1856), a circuit-riding surgeon who treated white settlers and Indians in the area, developing a good reputation among the Cherokees for treating smallpox.

Commercial forestry has given way to small poultry farms in recent decades, although much of the workforce is employed in the manufacturing sector, mostly in textiles and apparel production.

Points of Interest

The Old Banks County courthouse was built during the Civil War and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The Banks County courthouse in Homer was built in 1987 to replace the county's original courthouse. The new courthouse stands on the block directly behind the site of the original courthouse.

Banks County also is home to the Georgia's smallest covered bridge. It was originally built in 1915, the bridge was in service until 1969 and renovated in 1975.

Notable Citizens

Although Royston, in Franklin County, was Ty Cobb's birthplace, Banks County also lays claim to having the famous ballplayer as a resident. In 1936, Ty Cobb became the first baseball player inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Chamber of Commerce
Additional County Info
Click here to view a larger map image.

State of Georgia

Ragsdale Mill

Drag racing at Atlanta Dragway

Return to top of page